Nice Guys Finish First

I was desperate to get out of the house. It was raining, and I didn’t want cereal. I threw the kids’ clothes on, put them in the car, and drove to… dare I say it….McDonalds. That’s right! McDonalds! And not only did we eat greasy hash browns and sausage biscuits, but the kids played in that giant, virus infested playhouse! (Yes, Yes… I know they are gross.)
As I lazily sat there drinking coffee and looking at my phone my lovely children, I noticed a few bigger kids walking in. They bounced their too tall tails right into the playhouse and climbed up. I watched as they approached Bubba and yelled, “Move, kid!” Bubba stood there for a second, stared cooly, put his arms up as if to say ‘whatever’, then moved! He moved for those little bullies! Oh my!

My first instinct was to claw my way up and…well, I’m not going to finish that sentence. My second instinct was to get Bubba down and firmly tell him to take up for himself, to use force if necessary! You know, “Be a Man, son,” that sort of thing.

I didn’t do either. I watched Bubba as he carelessly went on about his business, playing and even making friends with the mean boys. He was being the bigger person. I was about to teach my baby to disobey the Bible, to fight, to push back when pushed. What was wrong with me? (Maybe too much coffee.)

It’s Father’s Day week, which makes me think about my daddy, my husband, my father in law. Why are these men in my life? I mean, lots of men don’t stick around…right? There are so many fatherless children. How did I get so lucky? Then I realize…These are nice men. They are kind hearted, not quick to anger. They are not the bullies of the world. They don’t go around pushing people who make them mad. They are not pulled out of bars, arrested for fighting, running around taking what they want.

I have repeatedly watched as my husband chose the high road. I am sure my son has watched as well, and I know my husband watched his own father do the same.
When you teach your boys to be kind and respectful of not only other adults, but each other, they can grow into men who are respected. They don’t need to push their way around the world. They are good men and great dads. Instead of shoving back they can cooly raise their arms, say, “whatever,” and go on about their business.

kids and josh mowing 2

Leave a Reply

